Posted by: Naima | March 12, 2009

Surprise Package

Ever since I started finalizing my study abroad plans, seniors who had recently returned to campus kept referencing the newspapers Bates sends everyone while they are studying off-campus. Even though I was expecting a stack of “Bates Student“s with articles drenched in Newman’s Day stories and debates between “Jimmies” and “Sprinkles, it was still very much appreciated. Along with the newspapers, Bates sent me a packet of fellowship and grant opportunities that will help fund my (possibly extended) stay in Cape Town after the semester is finished. The final touch was a nice letter explaining the environment on campus.

student-cover1

At first, these packages may seem small – maybe even insignificant. But knowing that I can tap into Bates at any moment (without wasting my pay-as-you-go internet) is so nice. Furthermore, it’s just quintessential Bates. Why wouldn’t your school want you to know how life is in Maine and on campus? We all see it as a home (regardless if it’s a first or second one), and even if most of your friends are abroad while you are, you’re bound to miss a few people or places (Commons or the Quad mainly) who you won’t see until fall or next winter. Until then, I will just have to settle for sitting outside in the 90 degree weather with my Student. Not too bad, not too bad at all.

Peace and then some,

Naima

Categories

