Posted by: Naima | June 27, 2008

Big Plans

So this week I finally contacted the Sun Journal (Lewiston’s newspaper) about any type of internship they might have in the fall for an aspiring journalist. There’s no internship program – but what’s even better is that the woman on the other end of the line explained that I would be able to freelance for the paper. Most likely I’ll be covering PTA meetings and random stuff on the weekend that no one on staff will really want to write about – but it’s still invaluable experience. And not only will I have something to beef up my resume, but I’ll be getting paid per word. I’ll already be working for the Ronj and Admissions [and perhaps the Library] on campus, but it’ll be great to pick up some cash and experience on the weekends. Also, this week I’ve been researching a lot of internships I’d like to apply to for next summer. A bunch of the deadlines are pretty early so I want to be on top of my game. Also, I’ve been working on my study abroad application and other stuff that will be nice to have a head start on by the time I get to Bates in September. Spending so much of this week working on things Bates-related has made me really excited for the fall. At the same time though, I need to cherish the time I have at home. It’s good timing because this weekend is the Taste of Chicago [Chaka Kahn, Stevie Wonder, and others are performing for free], some good friends are in town, and tonight I’m going to a comedy sketch called The Mike and Duane Show – it should be good fun. I’ll let y’all know how it is in another post.

While you wait, check out this video – it’s great.

Categories

