Posted by: Naima | June 18, 2008

Round 2

So things didn’t quite work out at the adult toy store…long story. But today I took my midterm for the journalism summer course (killed it) and went around town filling out some job applications. I’m looking into some restaurant hosting positions and barista jobs.I’m really hoping I get this job at The Fix, a small homey coffee house that just opened up by my house. The reason I like it so much is because it kind of reminds me of The Ronj – Bates’ student run cafe (also, see link on blogroll), my on-campus work place, and a great place to chill on Frye St. Even if I don’t get the job, I can see myself reading books, doing homework, and listening to music over a hot cup of loose-leaf tea there. Besides that, I’ve been up to the norm. Father’s day was great, immediately followed by my mother’s bday – also great, and I’ve been running around the city of Chicago with friends, crashing neighborhood fests, and having a good summer.

Here’s a picture from the neighborhood festival in Andersonville, a really cool neighborhood in Chicago:

While I’ve been having a good summer, I can’t help but think a little bit about this coming fall, spring and next summer. I’m thinking about trying to intern at the Sun Journal (Lewiston’s newspaper) when I get back to school and hopefully create and maintain a good relationship with them for the rest of my time at Bates. We’ll see, right now I’m having a good time hanging out, but the school year always seems to start back up before I know it. In the mean time, I’m gonna continue having a good time.

Until next time – Peace and then some,

Naima

Categories

