Posted by: Naima | June 12, 2008

The Livin’s Easy

Just a few days ago, one of my best friends at Bates made the trek to Chicago to check out the city and visit me and a couple other Batesies who reside in this great place. Everyone else had just seen her, seeing as though they all just got back from Short Term, but it was really great for me to sit back and chill with my Maine Squeeze and rehash the year. We ran around the city, from seeing B.B. King at the Blues Fest to checking out the set to the movie Johny Depp’s filming this summer. It made me really excited for school in the fall and visiting my Bates pals in NYC in August.

In other news, my Journalism class’ midterm is coming up – just one reminder that the summer is moving swiftly. It’s been great so far, and even though I worried that school during the summer would drive me crazy, at the end of the day it’s nice to have interesting conversations with peers – whether it’s all the way in Maine or at home. Basically, the class I am taking explores the ethics and social impact that journalism has on our way of life. We explore and debate the ideals in American homes in contrast to American media and slowly decide what type of journalists we want to be. By the time I get out of class it’s the perfect time in the afternoon – definitely enough sun to still be toasty, but it’s starting to cool down into sunset. I’m hoping to spend some time this week watching free movies in Grant Park. Now that the humidity has started to relax and the sun is just shining on its own, time outside will definitely be time well spent. I’m hoping some of my other good friends from Bates will stop through the Chi, but until then I’ll just lounge by the lake.

Lake Michigan – oooo yeah

Peace and then some,

Naima

Categories

