Posted by: Naima | January 30, 2008

Aches and Pains

It’s winter semester at Bates which means a few things in particular. Besides the blistering cold, slippery ice, and the two feet of snow on the ground, many kids are spending their Saturdays on the slopes. Being a city kid, I’ve never learned the ways of most snow-sports, so when “Learn to Snowboard” was offered as a gym class this semester, I threw caution to the wind and signed up. With snowdays and MLK day conflicting with the first couple of classes, yesterday afternoon was my first visit to Lost Valley – the local mountain where Batesies pay nothing to ski and snowboard for hours. Since I was the only one in the class who had never touched, strapped into, or rarely even looked at a snowboard before, I required some one-on-one instruction. After determining that I was in fact “goofy” and not “regular”, the teacher (a fellow Bates student) took me over to the learning area of Lost Valley and taught me the basics. After falling on my butt repeatedly for 20 minutes, I was finally able to get myself up on the board. I spent the rest of the time working on moving forward and stopping, two things that people say are crucial to the sport. Needless to say, I’ve been limping around campus all day. I’ll try to remember to stretch more next week. Even though I’m hurting in most places, I’m really happy that I’m taking this as a gym class. Where else would I learn to snowboard, for free, with excellent instruction? My teacher, John, said that I’ll going up the lifts next week. I’m not sure what else to do in preparation besides make sure my helmet’s on tight.

Peace and then some,

Naima

Here’s a picture of Lost Valley, I’ll be going up those ski lifts next week…yikes.skilift.jpg

Categories

